Perl 5.24 on a stick

I just upgraded my Perl thumb drive to Strawberry Perl 5.24.0.1!

pic of Perl thumb drive

I simply reformatted it and unzipped the new one onto it

cd /media/tim/Strawberry
unzip ~/Downloads/strawberry-perl-5.24.0.1-64bit-PDL.zip

When I put the thumb drive in a Windows machine, it was mounted as the I: drive, so now I can use Strawberry Perl from cmd.exe

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
(c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\tim>I:\perl\bin\perl -E "say qq{Hello, Perl $]}"
Hello, Perl 5.024000

or from PowerShell

PS C:\Users\tim> I:/perl/bin/perl -E "say qq{Hello, Perl $]}"
Hello, Perl 5.024000

Supergood!

Perl 5.24 on a stick

Leave a Reply

